top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarinita

INTERVIEW – PREVIOUS HEAD STUDENTS

A look back at Vladimir and Young Seo’s year as head students.

By: Harinita 10.3



Good leaders are vital for the student body because they represent and speak for them. Even through a tough time of Covid19 and school being on and off, our two previous head students, Vladimir and Young Seo, have worked really hard. They have been amazing leaders for an entire year for us, making improvements and being our voice. So, what were some of the challenges they faced? How did they feel working together? Is there anything they would change? Let's see what they have to say.  

Harinita: So, you guys have been the head students for an entire year. And I just wanted to know, how did it


feel to represent the student body? Was it hard?

Young Seo: Yes, it was hard for us at first as we were online. We didn’t really have the chance to interact with the students as much. And now, we saw that Suhani and Swarit organized Loy Kratong. We didn’t really get a chance to do stuff like that. It felt like we had missed out on things because of Covid and things like that. The good thing is, in term 2 and 3, we got to meet with students, and I really liked communicating with all of Regents’ students. But I just hope that we have been good role models. It was an honour.



Vladimir: It is undoubtedly quite hard, to represent everyone’s voices. It is quite hard to get that balance of asking people what they want and actually being able to do it for them. It is, however, very important and I would say that it’s a very good felling; being able to help so many people and be their voice.

Harinita: What kind of changes did you make to this school, and why?

Young Seo: Fir


stly, Vlad and I have different roles. He was kind of the spokesperson, so when it came to speaking it would be him. I would be more of the person behind. I have a research organization going on with the IB students. I wanted to provide more research opportunities for students. In primary, we raised awareness of SDG (Sustainable Developmental Goals).

Vladimir: Personally, I worked with my team. We had an amazing, hard-working team. They all ran amazing projects and had a really good time working with them as well as Young Seo. But apart from that, I was part of getting the changing room renovated for you guys. And for this I worked with my team member, Zia, who is a sports director. I would say that those changes are quite meaningful, but my central role has been to make sure that the students are happy.



Harinita: Do you have any advice for the new head students, Suhani, and Swarit?

Young Seo: They’re already doing perfectly fine. But if I had to say something, I would say, take a break!

Vladimir: I would say, that one the very important things is, don’t forget what your job is. Sometimes, people tend to get a little excited, what with the new responsibilities. I would say that it is really important to keep in mind that you’re here to serve the students. But right now, they’re doing great.



Harinita: If you could do something different or change something, what would it be?

Young Seo: I was also part of the well-being council and we were credited with an amazing award. But, I wish that I could reach out to the students more about this topic and conduct metal wellbeing camps and more.

Vladimir: I would say that I would like to have made the international team a bit bigger. I think it would have been better if we had asked for ideas and thoughts from teachers as well as other year group students. We did have a very diverse team but I think further interacting would have made our school event even better.



Harinita: Do you ever regret being head students?

Young Seo: I don’t regret being head student, but I will say that I regret some the decisions that I made during my time as a head student.

Vladimir: Like I had mentioned before, being a head student is quiet an important and challenging role to take on. We had access/ control to lots of things which made the experience amazing. But, sometimes it did kind of feel a little bit stressful. But on the whole, I did not regret being a head student.



Harinita: How did it feel to work together as a team?

Young Seo: Working with Vladimir was actually very fun if I’m being honest. It was kind of funny because he likes to have his own ‘atmosphere’ but in the end, we did work out well together.



Vladimir: I think I was quite lucky to have Young Seo as my co-head student, and I think we got along pretty well. We had a lot of meetings and discussions where we had to work together to make decisions. But other than that, I think that I also had a great overall leadership team that I personally felt I worked really well with. They were all very supportive and hardworking.


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page